ESMA Recognizes Third-Country CCPs

The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) has recognised ten third-country Central Counterparties (CCPs) in Australia, Hong Kong, Japan, and Singapore. The recognition allows these CCPs to provide clearing services to clearing members or trading venues established in the EU. The recognition is based on an assessment of these jurisdictions by the European Commission as “equivalent” with regard to their legal and supervisory arrangements for CCPs, as well as several other steps, including the conclusion of cooperation agreements with the relevant third-country authorities and the consultation of certain European competent authorities and central banks, as required by EMIR. ESMA has published a list of the recognised third-country CCPs as well as the classes of financial instruments covered by the recognition.